Historic Properties of Spokane
Littlebrook Farm is associated with a person of local significance, John T. Little, who played an integral part in the business and civic development of the city of Spokane from 1909 until his death in 1980. In 1909, Mr. Little established the John T. Little Hardware and Sporting Goods store. The company served its customers throughout Washington, Idaho, Oregon, Utah, Montana, Wyoming and parts of western Canada until 1942. Highlights of Mr. Little’s civic contributions included his service as a board member of the Elks, Rotary International, Lincoln Savings Bank, Board of Regents of Gonzaga University, and Cheney-Cowles Museum. His service to the Salvation Army included the donation of $300,000 to build their club facilities for the athletic development of youth. He served as a County Commissioner from 1940-1947, during which time he oversaw the remodeling of the County Courthouse. Littlebrook Farm is also architecturally significant as a well-preserved example of horizontal whole log construction, which is unique to the Spokane County area. The two-story, hand hewn, log home was built by Oliver LaJoie, who lived with Little and his wife on site during construction between 1935 and 1944. The home was patterned after a drawing of the Red River Ranger Station in Elk City, Washington, and constructed around a pre-existing cottage built in 1905. All of the cedar logs used in building the home were hand cut, peeled, and notched; no nails or pegs were used as whole logs were coped and placed horizontally one on top of the other with saddle notched corners. Each room is unique, featuring many hand crafted and forged details, fittings, and cabinetry.